Acharya Diwakar Datt Sharma – The man who named Himachal Pradesh

diwakar dutt sharma
49 years ago, on January 25, 1971, Himachal Pradesh became the 18th state of India after the passing of the Himachal Pradesh State Act, 1970. During the British rule, Himachal Pradesh became a part of Punjab Province, and later in 1950, Himachal Pradesh was declared as a Union Territory. The christening (naming) of this state was done by Acharya Diwakar Datt Sharma as Himachal.

“Hima” means snow and Himachal literally means in the lap of snow-covered mountains.

Acharya Diwakar Datt Sharma was a renowned Sanskrit scholar and astrologer who lived in the small town of Mashobra.

A weekly and first native newspaper called Vishwashanti was started by the Acharya Diwakar Datt Sharma and Shambhu Datt Shastri. It’s publishing however had to stop due to various economic reasons.

Divya Jyoti the monthly magazine published in the Sanskrit language was also started by the Acharya Diwakar Datt Sharma on 12 October 1956.

Inputs from Shimla Talkies
About Rahul Dhatwalia 67 Articles
Rahul loves to read article on internet, He crawls over whole net for interesting and unknown facts. He is presently working in Public Sector Bank. In Leisure time He loves to play guitar, produce music and watching movies.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.